15.—Lieutenant-Governors of New Brunswick, 1867-1949, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-49, and Present Ministry as at Aug. 1, 1949

Note.—See headnote to Table 13, p. 118.

Lieutenant-Governors

Name *	Date of Commission	Name	Date of Commission	
Major-Gen. Sir C. Hastings Doyle Col. F. P. Harding L. A. Wilmot Samuel Leonard Tilley E. Barron Chindler Robert Duncan Wilmot Sir Samuel Leonard Tilley John Boyd John A. Fraser A. R. McClelan	Oct. 18, 1867 July 14, 1868 Nov. 5, 1873 July 16, 1878 Feb. 11, 1880 Oct. 31, 1885 Sept. 21, 1893	JABEZ B. SNOWBALL L. J. TWEEDIE. JOSTAH WOOD G. W. GANONG WILLIAM PUGSLEY WILLIAM F. TODD Major-Gen. HUGH H. McLean Col. MURRAY MACLAREN W. G. CLARK DAVID LAURENCE MACLAREN.	Mar. 6, 1912 June 29, 1916 Nov. 6, 1917 Feb. 24, 1923 Dec. 11, 1928 Feb. 5, 1935 Mar. 5, 1940	

Legislatures, 1934-491

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of	
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution	
June 19, 1930 June 27, 1935 Nov. 20, 1939 Aug. 28, 1944 June 28, 1948	10th General Assembly	4 5 4	Feb. 12, 1931	July 10, 1944	

¹ The Ministries from 1934-48 were: 19th Ministry, sworn in June 1, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. L. P. D. Tilley; 20th Ministry, sworn in July 16, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. A. A. Dysart; 21st Ministry, sworn in Mar. 13, 1940, under the leadership of Hon. J. B. McNair. ² Life of Legislature not yet expired.

Twenty-First Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 28, 1948: 47 Liberals and 5 Progressive Conservatives.)

Note.—Ministers who have held office continuously are shown as at the date of original appointment, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name		Date of Present Appointment	
Premier and Attorney General Provincial Secretary-Treasurer and President of Executive Council Minister of Public Works. Minister of Lands and Mines. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Health and Social Services. Minister of Labour. Minister of Labour. Minister of Education and of Federal and Municipal Relations. Minister without portfolio.	Hon. J. I. Hayes Doone Hon. W. S. Anderson. Hon. Richard J. Gll. Hon. A. C. Taylob. Hon. F. A. McGrand, M.D. Hon. Samuel E. Moders Hon. James W. Brittain. Hon. J. A. Douget.	Jan. July May July Sept. Sept. Nov. Sept.	10, 1940 16, 1938 16, 1946 16, 1935 27, 1944 27, 1944 2, 1948 27, 1944	

Subsection 5.—Quebec

The Executive Council is composed of the Lieutenant-Governor and his advisers, the Ministers of the Crown. These are: the Premier, Attorney General and President of the Executive Council; the Provincial Treasurer; the Minister of Lands and Forests; the Minister of Health; the Minister of Municipal Affairs; the Minister of Colonization; the Minister of Mines; the Minister of Agriculture;